PROZAC

By

Iwuese Lucy Ahua

I stood in front of the mirror adjusting my bow tie, with my mind no where in particular but in truth; I was nervous as hell. Just then my best man and friend walked into the room and looked at me through the mirror since I had my back to him; “It’s time” he said so I nodded and he left but not before he flashed me a reassuring smile. I looked at myself in the mirror and I was good to go. I grabbed the box that had the gift I bought for her in it a while back; I planned to give it to her on a special day and today, fate decided for me, was that day. I took one last look at the mirror, nodded and was out the door. I took the stairs two at a time because people were waiting and most importantly, she was waiting too and I couldn’t afford to keep them much longer. On my way down, I passed a few guests with whom I exchanged nods and smiles; I didn’t have the time for small talk so I hurried away.
With the box clutched tightly in my sweaty palms, I walked into the room were she waited with our guests and the world seemed to stand still. For a few minutes I merely stood there until I felt my best man’s hand on my shoulder urging me forward so I swallowed the lump in my throat and I moved. I went to stand beside her; my God, she was beautiful. I had already told the priest I didn’t have much to say so I kissed her cheek, and then I opened the box and took out the lovely green jeweled necklace I bought her and place it around her neck. Only then did I turn back to the congregation and to them I said “There is no such thing as a special moment; now is all we are ever promised and sadly we keep wasting our ‘nows’ while were busy chasing ‘forevers’ ” After that, I stepped away from where she lay, so beautiful even in death, I couldn’t seem to stop my flow of tears for they came freely now. Unable to hold it in any longer every one around broke down in tears too and I looked around with a wry smile on my face, I said to my self “So much for our special day.”

This entry was posted in SHORT STORIES. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to PROZAC

  1. homevida2014 says:

    This is beautiful in the saddest way.

Leave a comment